29th of August – travelling from Munich to Zakopane

The first day of my INTERACT TA to Kłapa research station in the High Tatra Mountains, Poland, was – compared to my earlier INTERACT trips to Finse, Norway, and Kobbefjord, Greenland – quite unspectacular: I rode by car from Freising, Germany, to Zakopane, Poland, which took me round about 12 hours including several breaks and some traffic jams. However, the trip included my first visit to Slovakia where I spotted several interesting castles along the highway as well as my first view on the Carpathians which I to date had been unfamiliar with.

IMG_0672

One of several Slovakian castles north of Bratislava along the way to Zakopane.

Tallenna

Leave a Reply

