Final report

SUCCESS LEVEL: > 100 %
NUMBER OF COLLECTED SAMPLES: > 450
NUMBER OF INVESTIGATED PLOTS: 175
NUMBER OF INJURIES: 0
NUMBER OF ENCOUNTERED POLAR BEARS: 0
ENCOUNTERED PROBLEMS: Weather! 😦
ENCOUNTERED REAL PROBLEMS: 0
SATISFACTION LEVEL: HIGH! 🙂

Looking for cryptogam species.

I’m back to reality and civilisation now. It’s hard to forget emptiness of Arctic. I’m still thinking about things I did during my fieldwork. When I close my eyes I can see cryptogams and my 1sqm research plot with stones, mosses and lichens. I really miss it now as it is 35 C degrees outside and there is no snow or glacier in the field of view. I miss the silence of the moraine when there is car traffic outside and miss the emptiness as I am walking across city centre.

But there is one thing I know for sure. I’m absolutely sure that what I love is to explore things that were unexplored in that cold polar world.

It’s time to work in laboratory now… to identify species, to create reports, to calculate all the costs and to write articles. There is still a lot to do, but I’m really charged with the energy I gained during the expedition. And even when there will be things going not well I will close my eyes and travel back to these peaceful lands.

Conclusions:
I hope to visit Arctic again soon.
I hope to do some research longer.
I hope to experience it more and more.
I hope for the next INTERACT TA project 🙂

I am really thankful to INTERACT TA team for giving the opportunity of conducting this fieldwork 🙂 Farewell Arctic Adventure 2017 and waiting for new… maybe in 2018?

Below you can find a short video – a synthesis of our fieldwork 🙂

Zapisz

Leave a Reply

