Day 5 – Tue 5th Aug – Russian TV stars

During our water sampling on the DAVOCCAP project this morning, the crew from the local Russian TV channel for Khanty-Mansiysk turned up and started to film us and take pictures of our work. At this time I was taking samples for dissolved organic carbon and the camera man had quite a close up of this process! They then interviewed Roxane, asking about our project here and what she thought of the Siberian peatlands. To my surprise they also spoke to me (I think being the youngest member and a student, which had some appeal)! I told them about my PhD project in Thurso looking at forest-to-bog restoration in the flow country. They asked me about the weather here – which at the time was quite similar to Flow Country conditions, as it was quite breezy and the mosquitoes had died down. If we have a link to the interview I will post it here…..In the afternoon me and Angela finished the water sampling and collection of testate amoebae samples,  then of course off to the sauna….

The sauna at Mukhrino, it also makes a good oven for drying samples!  (picture: R. Andersen)
The sauna at Mukhrino, it also makes a good oven for drying samples! (picture: R. Andersen)
Leave a Reply

